Jacksonville Non-Profit Wins HUD Award


The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida won the Award for Public-Philanthropic Partnerships. The nonprofit pairs private grants with groups in need.

WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and the Council on Foundations (COF) announced the winners of the 2023 Secretary’s Award for Public-Philanthropic Partnerships.

Of the 10 recipients, one – The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida – serves the Jacksonville-area counties of Duval, St. Johns, Nassau, Baker, Clay and Putnam. The Community Foundation partners with individuals, families, organizations and businesses that want their philanthropic gifts to make a difference in their communities.

HUD says its Secretary’s Award for Public-Philanthropic Partnerships recognizes excellence in partnerships that “have transformed the relationship between the public and philanthropic sectors, and also led to measurable benefits in housing and community development.”

The benefits can vary, but could include increased economic opportunity, health, safety, education, workforce development, disaster resilience, inclusivity and cultural opportunities, and/or housing access for low- and moderate-income families.

The 2023 winners were honored at an award ceremony in Denver, Colorado, and presented by Solomon Greene, HUD’s principal deputy assistant secretary for policy development and research, and Kathleen Enright, COF’s president and CEO.

“This year’s awardees represent the heartbeat of our great nation,” says HUD Secretary Marcia L. Fudge. “Every day, they respond to the call of some of our most vulnerable neighbors, advocate on their behalf, and confront some of our most pressing challenges.”

“We’re proud to recognize these grant-makers and their public-sector collaborators who together create innovative, place-based initiatives with lasting impact,” said Council on Foundations President and CEO Kathleen Enright. “They are all incredible testaments to what it means to truly love where you live.”

This year’s winners include:

  1. The Community Foundation for Northeast Florida
  2. Chicago Community Trust
  3. Fairfield County’s Community Foundation
  4. The Ralph M. Parsons Foundation
  5. Community Foundation Boulder County
  6. Rasmuson Foundation
  7. Excellerate Foundation
  8. Rose Community Foundation
  9. Greater Milwaukee Foundation

© 2023 Florida Realtors®

©Florida Realtors®

Source link